Get ready with me: heaven’s edition

getting ready.JPG

This picture was not planned, and neither was this post !

Tomorrow, I am going, for the first time, to travel alone. I took the plane alone once but my mom brought me to the Charles-de-Gaulle airport in Paris and picked me when I returned but so far, I never went through the whole “thing”.

So tomorrow, for the first time, this 23 years old girl who looks 18 without makeup will take two trains and register her bag and wait at the gate for the boarding. ALONE. ALL BY HERSELF.

I WANT MY MOMMY NOW.

No, seriously. Just kiddin’.

While it’s exciting, and I am super excited to fly to Vienna, Austria for a Christian conference, I had a bit of stress while getting ready tonight. I tend to check things 10 times to be reassured that I did everything properly. Passeport: check. Boarding pass: check. Train tickets: check them 13 times. Repeat the process. Clean the appartment.

Today, I prayed the Lord that He would help me treasure Him and not be enslaved by social media, by the desire to constantly check if people liked your post or your status. A few hours later, while I was arranging my clothes for tomorrow and organizing my purse, I looked at the table; I was getting ready, and it is real. I’m really about to leave. I am making sure that everything is ready so tomorrow, upon waking up, everything is ready and there will be no extra stress.

Wow, this girl is writing an existential prose about being stressed for a one week trip, don’t you think ?

But that’s not the point here. As I stared at the table, I realized something.

This life is not all there is. It will end. We won’t stay in this world forever. We “wait for the blessed hope–the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ” (Titus 2:13). 2000 years ago, ” the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people.”. And that grace teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age.” (Same chapter)

Who are we waiting for ? “our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good.” (Same chapter again)

Don’t misunderstand me. In this post, I am not trying to say we should earn our salvation. The point is, as the people of Israel were ready to go out of Egypt on the Passover night, as Noah, though he was mocked by people, believed what God had said… Are we taking the things of the Lord seriously ? He is worth every second of our time. He gave his life for us. Even now, He is interceding on our behalf. What a loving Savior !

So ladies… I don’t know your circumstances. Lately, I was discouraged about something I am struggling with, but as I was encouraged by a verse, I would like tell you something.

Girls.

Ladies.

Moms.

Do not lose heart.

Though our outer self is wasting away,our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen.

For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.

2 thoughts on “Get ready with me: heaven’s edition

Leave a Reply

