This week’s thoughts and happenings

  1. I have sent, a few weeks ago, a handwritten letter to a 16 years old young girl. Her answer landed in my mailbox this week and I learned a lot of things through that. She thanked me because I called her “My Princess” and she told me she was really touched because I thought of her, because she was on my mind. Her letter brought me a lot of joy and it made me more conscious of the fact that we, older women/ladies, can be mentors and friends to younger ones. What a pleasure, too, to receive a handwritten letter ! It is SO much more personal than a mail or a quick “hello” on Facebook Messenger…
  2. It’s almost the end of the year. I have two exams left ! It will be my last year of community pharmacy before, God willing, I start my Master’s degree in immunology next year. I can’t wait !
  3. My friendship with a Muslim fellow student, whom I dearly love, taught me a lot of things. My parents are Syrian and Lebanese so through language and culture, I think it is easier to talk to a Muslim-still, I learned that you might be the only Bible a Muslim will ever read. Arabs are very, VERY attached to hospitality and I remember, when I invited this lady for supper along with other friends from the faculty, that she was touched that I had planned a meal that was suitable for her to eat. She was also surprised that my choice of dressing modestly came from the Bible’s teaching; so I am learning that hospitality, and obedience to the Lord in our daily acts can open a door for a discussion about the Gospel.
  4. Often, we don’t know. That very classy girl dressing in Chanel might have no friends at all. People, at the end of the day, no matter their backround, are in need of the Lord and of love. And we are in society where girls are experts at gossiping and making fun of each other, sadly. Be a lady of integrity. Be known for not having that tendency to gossip, and to divide frienships.
  5. Singleness is not an inferior status. In the past, singleness, for example in Corinth, was sometimes seen as something superior spiritually, and in our times, we often, even in the church, pity singles. I think there is a problem with both approaches. And to be honest, it can lead some who were content with their status to start wondering: “is there anything wrong with me ?”-no. You are not odd. It’s ok to be single, you are not suffering from leprosy, it’s perfectly fine. And I am tired of seeing society and even some Christians depicting marriage as the ultimate goal. Sure it is a good thing. Sure longings to share life with someone are good. But you know ? Marriage won’t last forever. In heaven, we will all be singles. And marriage is temporary, and might be very short ! I have a friend of mine, who after two years of marriage, and one or two msicarriages, her husband died and it made me think: her marriage was “made in heaven”. Madly in love, with each other, and with the Lord. And it ended after two years. As beautiful as it is, as a God given institution, will not necessarily look Pinterest-y and is not guaranteed to last 60 years. I read today, on Desiring God, that, “Christian hope is the confidence that an amazingly good future is securely ours”. Thanks to Christ, that good future is secured. We might not have all what we wish here on earth, but we have received, in Christ, the greatest Good. Eternity is bigger than anything.
Leave a Reply

