Becoming a woman of virtue

rose

Pinterest

 Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good. Then they can urge the younger women to love their husbands and children,  to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.” (Titus 2:3-5)

Today, through the Holy Spirit’s help, I want to obey the Lord and become a virtuous woman:

-I want to love my family not only in words, but in deeds also;

-I want to be self-controlled and not be enslaved to anything but to Christ

-I desire with all my heart to be pure, in this world in which purity is mocked, I want to remember this: “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God” (Matthew 5:8). I want my mind and my eyes to dwell on things… that are true, noble, right, pure, what lovely, admirable, excellent or praiseworthy… (Philippians 4:8). The verse I posted last time made a deep impression on me: it was a key verse in the conversion of Saint Augustine of Hippo, whose battle was mainly with lust. As Spurgeon once said, the food on which silkworms feed predict the color of the silk they will produce and as well, I think what we see, what we dwell upon, what we read, will go in our minds, where the battle is, and therefore, I want to feed on the Word of God.

Talking about purity, I must confess something: there are things I have decided to give up, especially in the area of music because some music and songs have the power to influence your emotions so deeply… and therefore your thoughts, and I felt like I had to give up some of these things.

But as Jim Elliot said, “”He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose.”

-I want to be busy at home… and not be a busybody. In this world where people read gossip magazines, where we spy and stalk each other on Facebook, an attitude that often breeds envy, jealousy and evil things, join me, my dear sisters, as I strive, today, to heed the words of the Apostle Paul:

Or even when we were with you, we gave you this rule: “The one who is unwilling to work shall not eat.”We hear that some among you are idle and disruptive. They are not busy; they are busybodies. Such people we command and urge in the Lord Jesus Christ to settle down and earn the food they eat.” (2 Thessalonicians 3:10-11).

Would you please join me in prayer as we not only read these words, but apply them in our daily life in order to honor the Lord ?

“Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.” (James 1:22-24)

Leave a Reply

