1000 gifts: choosing gratefulness

Ungratefulness and self-pity. Every since I could remember, from my youngest age, I have been prone to complain, to wallow in my own self-pity. It’s not fair, because I’m blessed, more than I imagine, but it’s always easier to see what we don’t have, to say that the grass is greener on the other side… While God bless us daily, showers us daily, with thousands of blessings. Tonight, as I was eating my dinner, I realized all the details the simple act of eating that chicken with a side or rice encompassed. And I felt bad for not counting my blessings.

I also realized that I am more prone to sin (beyond the sin of self-pity or ingratefulness themselves) when I am discontent and when I don’t rejoice in what the Lord is doing in my life daily. And it’s becoming increasingly dangerous. Therefore, I decided to make it a daily habit to count my blessings and to write them down, either in my journal or on this blog, and to compile them in a 1000 gifts list, just like my friend Katrina did on her blog (her blog is amazing by the way, and I’m always encouraged whenever I visit it).

“Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits” (Psalm 103:2)…

  1. Our house was flooded this week and praise the Lord, everyone is ok; the insurance paid for the damage, and we got to stay, for one week, in a nice hotel while waiting for our home to be repaired. I’m grateful for that because today in France, a flood happened in the South, and the consequences were far more tragic than a damaged wallpaper…
  2. My little sister, Joy, who is 17 years old and in whom I can see the Lord at work: she litteraly devours her Bible and is eager to follow the Lord, I am so encouraged by her example…
  3. Loving friends who think of me and often text me and show appreciation
  4. My parents, who celebrated 27 years of marriage this week and were joyful in spite of the flood
  5. My older brother, who moved to the other side of the country and is doing well, found a church and is doing great in his work.
  6. Warm clothes, scarves, because this autumn feels like winter…
  7. Daily food
  8. Organic eggs I had recently and that are pure awesomeness ! The yolk is so creamy !
  9. A nearby organic store that is affordable
  10. Kind coworkers
  11. The hospitality and love of my family in Christ
  12. The privilege of a good health
  13. This blog, because I always need a place to write
  14. A stationery kit I found at home, and the joy of writing handwritten letters…
  15. The possibility to visit my parents on weekends
  16. The Internet and all the ressources that I find on it
  17. Weekends and the restful times after long weeks…
Leave a Reply

