In the kitchen: Sick day soup

I don’t quite remember if what I found the paragraph in the TIME magazine or somewhere else- but I once read a few pages about the culinary habits of some well-renowned chefs across the world. When they were asked what last dish they would choose to eat before dying, their answer was at the same time surprising and understandable.

I’d thought they would give the name of some elaborate dish, the one you’d find on their menu and that looks, on the paper, like a long, poetic introduction to the plate that is about to come on the table. After all, don’t they juggle all day with rare fishes, exotic ingredients like vanilla, tonka beans, and expensive white truffles ?

Instead, they all named a childhood recipe of spaghetti, of soup, something their mother made on Sundays- in short, really simple dishes.

My mom is an amazing cook, but if you were to ask me the same question the magazine asked the chef, I would reply in the same manner: I would not pick one of her sophisticated dishes, but probably the simplest: sick day soup. When we were younger, she would, when we had a cold and were bedridden, bring us a vermicelli bowl of soup on a tray- a really simple one: a chicken broth with vermicelli and, I never knew why, half a tomato.

Today, I made my little sister a similar soup – she wanted “little stars” instead of vermicelli, and I slightly altered the original recipe.

photo (13)

I added some celery chopped stalks, turkey cubes, green onions, cinnamon and ginger powder, freshly ground pepper, sea salt, and the secret ingredient…clove. This soup is so autumny, and served along with bread and butter, it’s such a nice comfort food.

Bon appétit !

“I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.” – Laura Ingalls Wilder

Leave a Reply

